Regardless of whether you work in a California corporation or are an independent contractor, you must be trained in sexual harassment prevention and reporting laws. If you do not comply with the law, you may be subject to a fine.
Part-time, temporary and independent contractors must be included in sexual harassment training
Depending on the size of your business, you may be required to train your workers on sexual harassment prevention. This requirement does not apply to applicants or unpaid interns. However, it does apply to employees who work for you more than 80 hours in a year.
California law requires employers to provide anti-sexual harassment training for their employees. This is an inexpensive and effective way to prevent sexual harassment in your workplace. The training can be conducted online from sites like this one: https://clearlawinstitute.com/california-law-now-requires-sexual-harassment-training-for-all-employees/ or in person. It should be in both English and Spanish, and contain information about bystander intervention.
The training may be completed in a group presentation, as part of a companywide event, or as an individual activity.
In addition to training, California employers must have a written harassment prevention policy. This policy must include specific information, such as notification procedures, record-keeping requirements, and other important elements. It should be distributed in a manner to ensure that all employees understand it.
The clear Law Institute’s Positive Workplace online training provides a comprehensive look at workplace harassment. It includes training on all forms of harassment, as well as bystander intervention and the complaint process. It requires a post-graduate degree and takes 20 hours to complete.
In addition to providing a sexual harassment training program, California employers must also develop a written harassment prevention policy. This policy should include information about what constitutes harassment, bystander intervention, and other relevant regulations. You can read more about bystanders by clicking the link.
Mandatory online course
Currently, California employers are required to provide sexual harassment training to all employees. The training is designed to educate workers about the law, as well as strategies for responding to harassment. It also includes information on federal laws and remedies for victims.
The law is intended to protect workers from sexual discrimination and abusive conduct. It requires employers to issue a sexual discrimination poster, as well as report any complaints of sexual discrimination. It’s also important to train all supervisors on how to handle discrimination.
There are many options for providing sexual discrimination training. One option is to use an online course from the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH). This training is a compliant option.
If an employer chooses to use a third-party provider, he or she must ensure that the training meets all requirements of California law. The course must also include interactive elements, such as discussion questions and skill-building activities.
A third-party provider will provide a comprehensive, fully-audited, and interactive course that covers the state’s law and best practices for creating a discrimination-free workplace. The provider will also provide tracking and reporting.
Using a third-party provider allows the employer to focus on other aspects of business while still meeting the mandatory requirements of the law. The provider will also ensure that the course is customized to the needs of the business.
Mandatory workplace posters
Having mandatory workplace posters for sexual discrimination training in California is an important part of making your business a safe place to work. These posters show employees what to do when they are subjected to discrimination or other discrimination at work, as well as the company’s policies on safety and discrimination.
All employers are required to post certain notices. Some are specific to your state, while others are federal labor law posters. The Department of Labor provides free electronic copies of these posters. There are also private vendors who assemble packages of required posters for each state. They also update them as necessary.
All employers in California are required to display the California Sexual Discrimination Fact Sheet and the California Law Prohibiting Workplace Discrimination and Discrimination poster.
There are three other posters that must be displayed at your business. The Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) and Discrimination Prevention Policy explains your commitment to an equal employment opportunity, and the process by which you can report discrimination. These posters are also available in several languages.
If you have at least five employees, you are also required to hang the Transgender Rights in the Workplace poster. This poster explains the rights of employees to engage in activities such as gender-related restroom use. You must also post the Family Care and Medical Leave (CFRA) and Pregnancy Disability Leave posters.
If you have non-English speaking employees, you must post the Department of Industrial Relations poster in their native language. You should also make sure that the poster is in a place where it will be easily read by applicants.